## **EXISTING COUNCIL STRUCTURE JUNE 2016**

Hurn

Examples

Level One Central Government

Controlling Party Conservative
Minister Greg Clark

Level Two Dorset County Council

Controlling Party
Population Estimate
Leader
CEO
Conservative
423,000
Robert Gould
Debbie Ward

Verwood

Wimborne

**Level Three East Dorset** Weymouth and Portland Christchurch North Dorset Purbeck West Dorset **Controlling Party** Conservative Conservative Conservative None Conservative None 54,000 88,000 70,000 100,000 65,000 Population Estimate 46,000 Anthony Alford Leader Ray Nottage Spencer Flower **Deborah Croney Garry Suttle** TBA CEO David McIntosh David McIntosh Steve Mackenzie Matt Prosser Matt Prosser Matt Prosser **Level Four** Burton Ferndown Blandford Bridport

Dorchester

Sherborne

Gillingham

Shaftsbury

Bournemouth

Conservative

191,000

John Beesley

**Tony Williams** 

Poole

Conservative

148,000

Janet Walton

Andrew Flockhart

## LIKELY NEW COUNCIL STRUCTURE

Level One Central Government

Controlling Party Conservative Minister Greg Clark

Level Two Dorset Combined Authority

Strategic Transport

Strategic Economic Development Dorset Executive Elected Mayor Local Enterprise Board

Level Three Unitary Authority One Unitary Authority Two

Bournemouth East Dorset (part)
Christchurch North Dorsrt
East Dorset (part) Purbeck
Poole West Dorset

Weymouth and Portland

Pop 450,000 Pop 318,000